Cigre Australia

global know-how


Aussies recognised at the Paris Centennial Session

1 September 2021

Several CIGRE Australia members have been recognised with global awards at the recent
Paris Centennial Session.

CIGRE Medal:

Every Session year, the “CIGRE Medal” is granted to maximum two members of CIGRE, in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the development of CIGRE (either administrative or technical).

        Richard Bevan


This Session Year, Richard Bevan (ex CIGRE Australia Chairman and Global CIGRE Treasurer) has been recognised with the prestigious CIGRE Medal award.  Richard has received the award in recognition of a long term commitment to CIGRE in a number of roles, however the contribution that he has made whilst he was on the Administrative Council, Steering Committee and his substantial contribution to the CIGRE organisational restructure laid a firm and reliable foundation which has enabled CIGRE to further grow continue to provide a service to the global industry and stakeholders.

Technical Council Awards 2021

This Award is granted to a few CIGRE Members as a reward for their active participation in the activities of the technical work of the Study Committees. Every two years, each Study Committee Chair puts forward one name from among members of his/her Study Committee or Working Groups. These proposals are approved by the Technical Council Chairman.

Australian recipients:
• C5 Electricity markets and regulation -  David Bowker
• D2 Information systems and telecommunication -  Victor Tan

CIGRE Pioneer 2020 e-session Achievement Award

CIGRE Pioneer e-session Achievement award is a special award created to recognise the outstanding efforts of the SC members who contributed to the
achievement of the 2020 e-session and/or of the 2021 Session.

Australian recipients:
• A1 Rotating electrical machines – Peter Wiehe
• A3 Transmission and distribution equipment – Wayne Pepper
• B1 Insulated cables - Russell Wheatland
• B4 DC systems and power electronics - Les Brand
• C4 Power system technical performance – Andrew Halley
• C5 Electricity markets and regulation - David Bowker
• D2 Information systems and telecommunication – Victor Tan

CIGRE congratulates all of these members and thanks them for their ongoing participation and support of CIGRE activities.